Celtic linocut print update

Goodness it was months and months ago that I first mentioned my celtic knot lino block – I never got round to posting the resultant print, but here we are:

Celtic lino cut

I commented last time that I think I’d actually worked this block a bit too much before taking my first print…at first look I’m not ever sure it looks like a lino print! You can see some of the nice rougher edges in close up, but I wish I’d left it a bit rougher:

I’m not sure what to do next with this though… the plain black and white is not enough I feel, so I may try to add a textured background, or try using 2 or 3 colours instead of just the black… any suggestions welcome!

p.s. I learnt how to draw and construct celtic knots and keys years and years ago using George Bain’s “Celtic Art: The Methods of Construction“… difficult and very time consuming but I found it absorbing at the time. For this project I put together the two knots and key from my earlier drawings.

3 responses to “Celtic linocut print update

  1. It’s ages since I’ve heard Greorge Bain’s book mentioned.. I too spent hours and hours following his instructions when I first read him, all sketches lost now though. Well done on hanging on to them.

    Your print is really well-designed and beautifully printed. I can see some ‘roughness’ in the close-up.. and think it’s just fine as it is.

    It’s perfect as it is, so not sure about making any suggestions. Textured background sounds great. Colour would also be interesting. For me, when I see celtic designs, rather than illuminated manuscripts, they take me straight to the colours of the landscape, but maybe that’s because I’ve been a long time away!
    Love your work ~Fiona

  2. I remember you cutting this block and I was looking forward to seeing the resulting prints. I’m not disappointed, I think it looks wonderful. Like Fiona, I don’t think it needs to be rougher – it looks lovely just as it is.

    Have you thought about trying some selective colouring (adding colour to sections of the block and wiping away any ink that is not needed)? It’s fiddly but you can get some interesting effects with overprinting sections of one colour on top of another.

Leave a Reply

